HomeHenley FinalsNewsShopContact


The Head of the River, Saturday 21 March 2009


Some 22 boathouses along the 4.25 mile Mortlake-Putney course hosted 410 entries for 2009 the Head of the River - 65 from overseas.

The race was won by an all-star Tideway Scullers School guest crew with seven of the top nine single scullers at the Beijing Olympics, assembled for the occasion by coach Bill Barry. The crew comprised:

1: Tim Maeyens (Bel) 4th, 2008 Olympic singles) 2: Andre Vonarburg (Swi) 9th overall in Beijing) 3: Alan Campbell (GB) 5th in Beijing final) 4: Marcel Hacker (Ger) 3rd, Sydney 2000 & 7th, Beijing) 5: Mahe Drysdale (NZ) 3rd in 2008, 3 times world champion) 6: Olaf Tufte (Nor) Olympic gold 2004 & 2008) 7: Ondrej Synek (Cze) silver in Beijing) 8: Iztok Cop (Slo) 2x gold in Sydney, silver in 2004) Cox: Alison Williams

They beat Leander, with five British Beijing medallists.

Vimeo clips are available for free high quality download. Click the "Vimeo" logo and scroll down bottom right